You are not logged in.

COKEMAN

Monday, June 5th 2006, 8:27pm

Bleed valve or replace/repair?

Interesting forum, glad I found it. Hopefully I can contribute eventually.

This may get a little long so I can completely cover the situation. Anyway, I have inherited a sprinkler system with my house. It's an older system, mainly Toro valves (?250/60 series? I have replaced a couple with Rainbirds), 5 zones, installed by the original owner long ago. The previous owners to me re-landscaped the yard, buried all the valves and didn't mark them. So over the last couple of years sections have been failing and I locate the valve for that section and repair it by rewiring, replacing solenoid, repairing valve, whatever. So, from this house and several systems I have put in/repaired for friends and family, I have some experience in most aspects of testing and fixing valve troubles.

However, I have one now that I am not quite sure of. As in previous cases, two sections quit working. The valves are close together and it makes sense that they both went out since they both were buried and overgrown with roots. I redid the wire connections, verified 24 volts, replaced the solenoids and verified that they were in fact actuating at the valve.