You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

willmy21

Sunday, September 16th 2007, 11:27am

Correct Riser Type for Hunter I-20 Rotor

I'm new to all things sprinkler related and want to thank everyone for dedicating so much time to keeping up this wonderful resource, it is packed with great information.

My question is this, I'm relocating/installing about 10 Hunter I-20 rotors in my backyard and I'm trying to determine what riser type to use. I would like to construct a 3/4" flexible swing riser, but according to the irrigationtutorial.com bible that everyone seems to treat as gospel, you aren't suppose to use this type of design for rotors, but rather a rigid arm swing riser. Plus, parts for 3/4" flexible swing risers (i.e. funny pipe and street ells) don't seem to be as readily available as 1/2". So, I'm looking for a recommendation, specifically,

Can I use a flexible swing riser instead of going with the rigid arm design for rotors? If so, do I have to use 3/4" funny pipe and fittings or can I use 1/2" materials to construct the flex swing riser? Would going with 1/2" harm the rotors' performance? My preference would be to construct a 3/4" flex swing riser, but parts seem harder to come by than 1/2" and I don't want to harm the performance of the rotor itself.

I know you guys will set me straight, so what is my best course of action. Again, thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide.

jimmyburg

Advanced Member

Monday, September 17th 2007, 2:47am

need to know more information like, pressure and meter size and where the meter is located. more info the better.
Jimmy