You are not logged in.

kellybig

Thursday, May 8th 2008, 9:30pm

Newbie here; PVC Question

I submitted a design to rainbird and purchased all of the parts and am starting to see how everything is going to fit together. I have never worked with PVC schedule 40 and notice on the pvc couplings that one end is loose and the other is very tight. The tight side of the coupler has a little bump on it where as the loose end does not. The loose end almost feels too loose while the tight end feels too tight. Is this normal? I am trying to follow the picture and use the PVC recommended. ( I have 3/4 inch valves and it appears they recommend 1 inch PVC Slip Tee with 3/4 inch coupling in between which hooks on to a 1 inch slip then 3/4 inch male which fits into the 3/4 inch female valve. It would almost seem easier to use. Any help much appreciated. :evil:

mrfixit

Thursday, May 8th 2008, 9:51pm

Brand?

What brand of fittings are those? Both sides should be exactly the same. I suppose you have to go with what's available in your area. I use exclusivly Spears fittings. Having a deeper socket makes me feel more at ease with my work. It's the reason I shop at Ewing and not Hydroscape. The K-mart here used to carry Spears fittings so you could try there. I'd just like to add that since you're new to PVC fittings that maybe the part you think is loose maybe the correct size. If you can push the pipe all the way in easily without glue then it's definetly too big. It should go about half way without glue. I'd rather have a fitting too tight than too loose. You probably have nothing to worry about though, the glue will fill the gap.
If I can't fix it, it's broken!

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "mrfixit" (May 8th 2008, 10:43pm)

kellybig

Friday, May 9th 2008, 6:47am

Thanks