You are not logged in.

tmostad

Monday, June 30th 2003, 1:12pm

Negative pressure prevents valve closure

I have a line with a long downhill run and a 100-DS valve at the top. When power is removed the valve doesn't close. I called the 1800RAINBIRD line and he confirmed my guess that negative pressure is preventing the line from closing. He offered no advice. Anyway, being an engineer, I could design a circuit with another valve that would open momentarily when power is removed to break the suction long enough to let the valve close but hoped there might be a ready made solution. I thought maybe it would be possible to increade the spring tension in the valve to help it close better. Please don't tell me I am an idiot for designing and installing my own system and making a simple mistake. The Rainbird hotline guy already did that.

PS - I am fully prepared to replace the valve with a different/better one if necessary.

Edited by - tmostad on Jun 30 2003 6:17:44 PM

drpete3

Supreme Member

Tuesday, July 1st 2003, 7:59am

How long does it take for the valve to close?(when is the negative pressure relieved?)
What if you were to put a harmony drain at the top of the hill with the drain up side down and above ground. My thought is that this might work like the little opening on the back of a five gallon gas can and relieve the neg pressure.

Thanks,

Pete

Rays Sprinklers

Supreme Member

Tuesday, July 1st 2003, 12:28pm

Hey,