You are not logged in.

Sunday, June 6th 2010, 5:36pm

Hunter valve will not operate with controller

Hi all,

I am new to fixing these things (since it has worked flawlessly for the last 4 yrs) The controller is a Hunter SRC Plus and the valves are Hunter PRV's the system is a five valve system. I noticed that zone was not coming on and the controller is displaying S ERR after the system runs through a cycle. I first checked the zone I am having problems with by selecting this zone to run by itself individually. When I select this via the dial on the controller I can here what sounds like the sprinkler heads getting ready to pop up but then nothing. I have tried this again and I can get the heads to come on but they only stay on for a few seconds and then go back down and will try to pop up a few more times but it will never run the full cycle. I have also opened the valve box located this zone's valve and have turned the solenoid a quarter turn and the zone comes on perfect. There is also a little (what looks like a set screw) that if I turn a small turn will turn on that zone as well. Doing this via the valve in the box tells me the zone is getting water. Is there a way to determine if it is the controller not telling the valve to work properly or is it the valve itself that needs something? All other zones and valves work fine and the controller operates those valves fine. Could it be the solenoid or is it the entire valve itself. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thx in advance.

Chris

HooKooDooKu

Supreme Member

Monday, June 7th 2010, 8:46am

Is the problem on zone 5?