You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

CFHome

Saturday, March 12th 2011, 6:49am

Repair FEBCO 860 RPZ Backflow Prevention Device

Newbie here, so please be gentle :-)

I have a house in Leander, TX, where the landscaper installed a 1" FEBCO 860
RPZ Reverse Flow Protector. Once during a freeze last year the valve froze
and started leaking out the bottom. The landscaper replaced it, tested it, and recommended for
any future freezes to turn off the water supply. I did that and left the main water supply
off through the hard freeze we had in early February.

I recently
turned the water on and the valve is again leaking through the
opening in the bottom. The landscaper wants to replace it and charge me
$200+ for the valve plus his labor for a total $300 bill.

I have a couple of questions:

1.)
If there was some water remaining inside when the valve froze, what is likely to have broken? I don't think
it should be necessary to buy a whole new valve to fix the problem. The
main water supply was turned off but I don't know if the valve was
completely drained. I can buy various repair kits and replace parts. Ideally I'd find another contractor that can do more than just throw away the whole valve.

2.)
If I have to replace the whole assembly. can I just take off the old valve and install a new one or do I also need additional test equipment, such as differential pressure meters? I am capable of mounting a new valve but I don't have
any specialized tools. Should the valve work without adjustments
straight out of the box?