You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

propman07

Monday, May 16th 2011, 12:09pm

Too many spray heads?

Hi- I'm new to irrigation systems, so please excuse my ignorance. I recently purchased a home with a very lush looking lawn. I assumed that the irrigation system was responsible, but I am pretty sure that the lawn was being watered by the seller using a hose. One of the zones in the system has 12 spray heads in it. I have replaced all of the cheap brass sprinkler heads in this zone with Rainbird 600 series 180 and 90 deg sprayers. For some reason, the sprinkers don't operate properly towards the end of the circuit. I have tried to flush out all of the heads, but the last 5-6 sprayers don't pop up all of the way. They do have water coming out of them, but it is mostly a dribble. Any troubleshooting help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sprinkler Buddy

Saturday, May 21st 2011, 9:44am

I would say you are right! That is way to many heads on one zone. The heads you replaced probably put out more water than the old ones you took out. Either way, I would say you need to add another zone and split the load.

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Saturday, May 21st 2011, 11:57am

Try shutting off the flow at the heads closest to the zone valve. You should either end up finding a leak, or finding out the number of heads you can effectively run at one time.

Mitchgo

Supreme Member

Sunday, May 22nd 2011, 11:55pm

My guess is you bought these heads from home depot / lowes

These heads that you bought are exactly top of the line quality..