You are not logged in.

seansy59

Advanced Member

Thursday, September 15th 2011, 9:34pm

At my local Home Depot, you can also rent an air compressor (gas) for $40 a day. It is about a 10 gallon one. Don't know if that would do the job. Probably, beacause as a homeowner, you don't have to do many systems a day. Just yours. For me, I don't mind taking a day to do it, as long as its done right, and its a good price.
A lot of work to save $35, sez me
Everybody around here we asked (about 3 companies) say that they'll do a 5 zone system blowout for the cheapest, $125, most expensive one was $250 somethin'. Very expensive. A blowout should Never cost that much, not even close unless its like a 24 zone system! I dont know if im going crazy or what, but I asked 3 companies and they were all that much. 8| ?( :cursing:
I'm no expert..........YET! :D I just like to suggest things and learn... :thumbsup: See what the pro's have to say first.

PerryNZ

Monday, March 26th 2012, 7:32pm

Turf thatch/mat over winter

I don't need to blow out any water, as we only get grass frosts
here; no ground freeze. But what of the turf mat/thatch? The
grass keeps growing in winter here. One helluva lot slower
than in summer, but growing nonetheless. Is it possible that
a mat/thatch will intertwine over the rotor heads during the
months when irrigation is not necessary and cause problems
in the Spring/Summer, when irrigation again becomes necessary?

Is it prudent to stand at the controller once-a-month (say) and
do a manual run of all zones for (say) a minute, to ensure no
thatch gets too tight? Or will the heads driven by 60psi water
just pop up in due season, regardless?

wsommariva

Supreme Member

Tuesday, March 27th 2012, 6:35am

If your heads are too low you may be able to easily raise them if the installer used swing joints or funny pipe. But I think you can just check before you turn on the system and cut away any problem thatch.

cbergm7210

Starting Member