You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

dtirey

Saturday, January 7th 2012, 11:46am

Sprinkler zone starts, but then quits

All,
I'm new to the site so first let me start off by saying hello. I'm a homeowner newbie that is in the military. I do have experience in electrical systems though. So, I have noticed when I wake up in the morning that my grass and driveway isn't wet as it should be since my irrigations system starts at 6am. I ran the system in manuel starting with zone 1. It began to run for about 1 minute and quit working. Tried to go to zone 2 and then zone 3 with no luck. I tried to restart zone 1 and it wouldn't kick on. The next day it did the same thing. So, let me tell you what I have done so far.
1) Manual turned the valves, all zones work properly. I know it isn't a pressure issue.
2) Figured it was an old controller,so bought a new one...still didn't work.
3) Got a volt meter and checked the readings when zone should be activated. All zones where 28VAC...I realized I can return the new controller.
4) disconnect all wiring. Read OL on each wire reading individual. Shorted wires and read a short. I know the wiring is good, and has good conductivity.
5) I read each solenoids resistance. Zone 1 and Zone 2 (Hunter ASV-101) read 24 ohms. Zone 3 (orbit 57623) read 30 ohms. I figure the difference is because it is different brands.
I checked connections but not thoroughly at the time. I figured if system came on for a minute, then connections had to be good. Any help on this system would be greatly appreciated. Dtirey