You are not logged in.

seansy59

Advanced Member

Sunday, February 5th 2012, 7:19pm

Slip or Threaded Valves?

Easy question. Do you prefer/which is more reliable? Slip on (glue) valves, or threaded?
I am looking at purchasing 1" Hunter PGV-100 valves to replace my Toro 3/4" ones. If the Hunter isn't any good, what do you suggest as a 1" valve? I will be getting at least 6, so I need it to be cost friendly.......
Hoping 1" valves will give me a little more GPM since the mainline is 1". I know valves and PVB's restrain the water flow alot.
I'm no expert..........YET! :D I just like to suggest things and learn... :thumbsup: See what the pro's have to say first.

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Monday, February 6th 2012, 10:04am

Always threaded in cold climates with poly pipe systems

seansy59

Advanced Member

Monday, February 6th 2012, 1:19pm

Always threaded in cold climates with poly pipe systems

Many thanks!!!! The mainline will be 1" PVC, threaded 1" valves, and the laterals are already 3/4" poly buried 5"-8".
I'm no expert..........YET! :D I just like to suggest things and learn... :thumbsup: See what the pro's have to say first.

grey

Advanced Member

Monday, February 6th 2012, 1:36pm

Go 1" poly all around for laterals. Burial depth is kinda shallow for my liking. I did mine at 12"+.

seansy59

Advanced Member

Monday, February 6th 2012, 1:43pm

Go 1" poly all around for laterals. Burial depth is kinda shallow for my liking. I did mine at 12"+.
Laterals are already buried. I'm not redoing the whole system. 3/4" is fine for 3-4 sprinkler heads. 5"-8" is all I could do with a shovel, and then add 550' of digging in total. A ditch-witch or pipe puller is/was too big to go through our yard to get to where we need it.

wsommariva

Supreme Member

Monday, February 6th 2012, 2:11pm

Pick axe worked well for me.

grey

Advanced Member

Tuesday, February 7th 2012, 1:10am

5"-8" is all I could do with a shovel, and then add 550' of digging in total.