You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

PaulV

Monday, March 19th 2012, 4:48am

How to connect the ontroller to the starter

Hi, I am totally new to irrigation. I have succesfully connected 12 valves to my Hunter Eco-Logic controller, which is fed by my borehole pump. 5,5kw and everything works fine.

However, I need to start the borehole phyiscally, then strart irrigation. When the program is completed after 5 hours, I have to stop the borehole pump physically or else it will pop my pipes/connections.

I am also worried that the power to the controller trips and all valves shut down, but the borehole i still running, which will pop the pipes or connetions.

Can I use the Master control valve power (not in use) on the controller to start and stop the pump, and how do I do that. I believe both is 24volt.

My boreole pump starts/stop with a push switch looking like this:

(inside of door of the starter where the switches are, three low volt wires from the starter to the run/stop switch)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Monday, March 19th 2012, 6:55am

You need to contact the pump manufacturer, and follow their guidelines. In general, the master valve output of a controller can power a relay, and the relay can then power a pump. A more comprehensive method involves adding a pressure tank and pressure switch, and letting them control the pump, independent of the sprinkler controller.

Monday, March 19th 2012, 7:10am

For a basic run down on how to hook it up, goHERE. Other features you can add are HERE

PaulV

Monday, March 19th 2012, 8:46am