You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

TNF

Tuesday, June 19th 2012, 5:52pm

Nelson in-ground sprinkler replacement

Hi, I am hoping someone can explain what is happening. A neighbor ran over one of my sprinkler heads recently with his lawnmower (not his fault if it was sticking up), but when I dug it up and tried to replace it, neither a 1/2" dia. or 3/4" dia. thread seems to work. The 1/2" thread was obviously way too small, and the 3/4" (Rain Bird) looks right.... looks the same as the Nelson head that I dug up.. but it will NOT thread onto the hose buried below.

I am new at this, so maybe I am missing some info. Is the Nelson proprietary? Will nothing else thread onto it?
I was told buy the repairman that replaced one for me last year that they are very interchangeable.

The existing (broken) Nelson head screws on and off just fine. The Rain Bird replacement won't. I tried changing the angle, pushing harder so it would catch, etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

wsommariva

Supreme Member

Tuesday, June 19th 2012, 8:29pm

Interesting.

Maybe remove the fitting that is in the ground and replace with one that fits the Rainbird.

TNF

Wednesday, June 20th 2012, 6:59pm

Interesting.

Maybe remove the fitting that is in the ground and replace with one that fits the Rainbird.
Thanks.
I was hoping it wouldn't take that much work. That maybe someone would just say "oh, you can't put a Rain Bird on a Nelson fitting", so I could just go find a Nelson instead... but at closer look I think the threads are deformed or something. Even tho the Nelson head goes on fine. :S

wsommariva