You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Friday, July 27th 2012, 8:11am

10 Zone Hunter System - 1 Zone on constantly

Good Morning- totally new to these forums, so If I am using the wrong terminology, please forgive me. I am just learning.

I recently bought a home with a 3 year old Hunter System. It has worked fine until earlier this week when I got home from work and saw that one of the Zones was on. I inspected the control panel and it was set to run the program, but the program is set to go very early in the morning, so there wasn't one running at the time and the display gave no indication that it was running the zone. I switched the system to off and it still runs.

When I manually set other zones to run on the same box, they will not operate. I unplugged the control panel and it still runs. The only way I can get the 3 other zones to operate is to go to the box and manually open the solenoid.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for any help.
-Scott

mrfixit

Friday, July 27th 2012, 11:25am

You've described two seperate problems. There's something wrong with the valve so it needs replaced or repaired in order to shut off.
Did you turn that valve on manually somehow?
--
Second, there's either a wiring problem or something wrong with the controller.
You said the valves wont come on manually, do they come on at the scheduled time?

Friday, July 27th 2012, 11:26am

Normally a zone not turning off means a valve is stuck open.
Sometimes valve failure, sometimes just debris in the system.
If it's just debris you can open and clean easily.

Friday, July 27th 2012, 11:56am