You are not logged in.

dclardy

Saturday, April 6th 2013, 4:50pm

Richdel 204 Low Flow

All,

I have an older Richdel 204 valve that has stopped working properly. It has very low flow to the heads, and I am not sure why. I have not removed it yet because I am not sure what parts I will need to fix it. I really don't want to replace the valve. Home Depot sales people really want me to do that for some reason.

I have unscrewed the bleed screw and get good flow. I have tried unscrewing the solenoid some, but it does not allow water to flow to the heads. This leads me to believe the diaphragm is bad? I have no experience with sprinkler repair, but I figured this would be a good start.

How can I repair this easily and correctly? It would be nice to unscrew a valve and pop the top on this one. Is that possible?

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Saturday, April 6th 2013, 6:14pm

You can always do a "guts swap" on a valve, where only the original valve body remains. R204 diaphragms are definite candidates for replacement.

mrfixit

Saturday, April 6th 2013, 7:45pm

This should do it.
Click on me

dclardy

Sunday, April 7th 2013, 8:57am

This should do it.
Click on me

Mrfixit,

Just so I understand, what is the process to fix it? Do I just open it up and change out parts? I have never seen the inside of a sprinkler valve so I am sure that I am making myself believe it is harder than it actually is. I just want to make sure that I have as complete a picture as I can before I start down the path.

Thanks for the help!

mrfixit

Sunday, April 7th 2013, 12:43pm

I need to make a youtube video of how to repair this particular valve. This is the only style valve I ever have to do this on.
--
Just unscrew the bonnet and take it off. Don't forget to turn the water off first.
Let all the water drain out. A pro doesn't have to let all the water drain but you better because it's easy to put this bonnet back on crooked or turned a little bit.