You are not logged in.

toaster

Sunday, March 21st 2004, 1:56pm

H2O spraying from valve

I have a Water Master anti-siphon valve. It is in the ground, so I can't see a model number. The leak is coming from the side of the valve that has 8 silver metal screws and one small black plastic knob (not the big knob on top that turns easily, but the smaller one that doesn't seem to turn very easily). The water is spraying from the small black knob. The result, aside from filling my valve box with water, is that the sprinklers on that valve are alway on. Any ideas on what is wrong with my valve?

aquamatic

Advanced Member

Sunday, March 21st 2004, 2:11pm

Sounds like that antisiphon is shot. How any of these do you have?
You should consider changing over to a PVB or doubl check valve

toaster

Monday, March 22nd 2004, 3:31am

I have three zones, therefore, three valves. I don't know what a double check or PVB valve is. What additional features do these valves offer over a standard anti-siphon valve?

mrwettech

Advanced Member

Monday, March 22nd 2004, 3:20pm

A anti-siphon valve should not be in the ground. Aren't they suppose to be so many inches above the highest head? Don't they act like a AVB? I agree with Aquamatic when he suggests installing a backflow prevention device.

toaster

Monday, March 22nd 2004, 4:49pm

Now that I've used the term anti-siphon, I actually can't confirm what type of valve is in the ground. Any ideas on how to determine what type of valve I have before I pull it out? It is in a box in the ground, which makes it pretty dang hard to find any numbers, especially if I don't know what I am looking for.

mrwettech

Advanced Member

Monday, March 22nd 2004, 5:55pm