You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

betsycam

Sunday, September 1st 2013, 11:59am

Newbie here - need help with wiring

Hello,

We bought a home that has a Rainbird system installed, and forgive me for not knowing correct terminology, but it has four Irritrol anti-siphon valves installed in various places. Far as I can tell, there are at least five different sections set up.

Recently, one of the solenoids was making shorting noises outside our window, so replaced a solenoid since it looked pretty old and ratty. That didn't fix it - and on further inspection I found we had rodent damage to the wires and they were shorting. So, I spliced in a new section of wire. I replaced all four solenoids since there were issues all around. Initially I thought this was a fix since the shorting sound stopped and I heard the section watering outside the window going off. I then went on vacation....

Upon our return, we discovered that the section watering the plants down the driveway was on all the time and that there was run-off from over-watering. I turned off the valves all the way around but the water kept flowing. The only thing to stop it was to shut off the spigot for the water feeding the two valves outside the window (where the short was).

Yesterday I checked my connections and found that the old red wire where I did the splice had broken. The wires are very old and brittle. So, I redid the splice hoping that was the fix, but NO! Water still on
all the time unless I turn off that spigot!