You are not logged in.

tth

Starting Member

Saturday, May 22nd 2004, 5:51am

manifold questions

I had a few questions for a new manifold design/installation. This is my first attempt and I wanted to try do things correctly. I purchased the dura pre-assembled manifold, PGV-101G valves, PGP rotars and hunter pop ups, and will be using 1" poly.

(1) Are water filters a good idea for residential connections from the main water line? Our water is hard, and from time to time I need to clean off the sediment on the filters for our indoor faucets.
(2) Should I install an inline drain down stream from each of my valves? (This was suggested in a popular mechanics article in 2002)
(3) I had a plumber come out and install and 3/4" RPZ and he left a copper 3/4" female stub below the ground for the manifold connection. What is the best way to dialate from the 3/4" copper to the 1' PVC for the manifold?
(4) Has anyone ever had any problems with leaking after installing the blazing saddle self tap fittings onto poly pipe from the local hardware store versus commericial grade? The salesperson at the sprinkler supply thought there could be a potential problem due to the difference in thickness of the two types of pipe.

Thanks for your assistance! Great forum [:D].

drpete3

Supreme Member

Monday, May 24th 2004, 4:13am

I have used blazing saddles on poly that was purchased from home depot and no prbs.
Thanks,

Pete

BSME

Advanced Member

Monday, May 24th 2004, 8:21am