You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Yardman

Sunday, June 20th 2004, 4:17am

Really low pressure/flow!

****o!

I am new to this forum but not to sprinkler systems. I am not a prof. installer I do it because it is something I enjoy. So here is my problem....

I installed a system for a friend of mine last week. 5/8" meter, 3/4" all copper interior plumbing. I increased to 1" for the system, Watts PVB, 1" Rainbird DV valves, 1" poly pipe with funny pipe connections to the heads (Rainbird 3500 rotor .75 nozzle), 3 heads per zone. When I checked psi and gallons before install we had 70 psi and a very poor 3 gallons per minute. Other neighbors are running 3 old brass Rainbird heads with no problems! I have checked all valves in the house and they are full open, I took the meter out of the supply line and checked it and it appears to be clean. I can find nothing that would cause this. The sprinklers take about 1 minute to rise. The best part is when they do rise and pressure builds they start fogging. So I switched to a 1.0 and then a 1.5 nozzle. When the system is running you can change to them and it works a little better. However, if you turn the zone off and then restart it they will not rise. I have never had this problem before. I'm begining to think we need to add a booster pump but would that help?

Any suggestions would help as it is a real sore sight to see them running.

Thanks
Rob

Yardman

Thursday, July 1st 2004, 12:33pm

UPDATE!