You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Buster

Wednesday, March 2nd 2005, 11:03am

Sprinklers come on by themselves!

I have 9 valves of sprinklers controlled by an Irritrol RD-900. My sprinklers are turning on by themselves - even when the controller is set to "off" my sprinklers still come on, and at random times for random durations. I've already replaced the controller, but the problem is still happening.

Any help would be greatly appreciated - I'm a complete novice, but would like to try to troubleshoot this myself if possible. I asked my landscaper about it and he didn't think there was anything wrong.

Thanks.

RidgeRun05

Supreme Member

Thursday, March 3rd 2005, 4:49pm

Buster -
If you have already replaced the controller, I would suggest that the problem is most likely in your valves. Are zones just randomly turning on, or do they go in a methodical order? If your controller is in the off position and your valves still turn on, the particular zone or zones that are turning on may have either sticking valves or a bad solenoid. There is also a possibility that your system may have a short in the wiring, which is causing this to happen. What is your static water pressure, and how old is the system?
Tony Posey
Ridge Run Landscapes

Buster

Friday, March 4th 2005, 7:16am