You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

jgriffin

Wednesday, July 8th 2009, 6:31pm

Constant Banging Noise in House Plumbing when Irrigation is On

Hi All -

First post here, looks like a great forum to get tips and advice. I inherited an irrigation system last year when we bought a house, so I'm still learning some of its quirks.

I have a problem that's really frustrating me, so I appreciate any opinions. I just fired up the system a couple weeks ago when I had a tech come out and do the backflow inspection. I wasn't home when he did it. A couple days later I turned on the system for the first time and we heard a constant banging noise in the indoor plumbing - kind of like water hammer, but rapid (probably 5-6 bangs per second) and constant as long as the sprinklers were on. Let it run, but left on vacation later that day so I couldn't do any troubleshooting. Did not have this problem at all last summer. System was purged last fall by the same tech who opened it for me a couple weeks ago.

Still having the problem. Occurs on all five zones, except not nearly as bad on the one zone that is sprays only (other four zones are rotors).

Here's what I have checked so far: