You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

FishNoGeek

Sunday, April 4th 2010, 6:50pm

Rainbird Valves: some zones won't start electronically

I've been hacking at this problem for over two years now, and I've been lurking on this forum for a couple weeks. I keep thinking it's just a simple clogging issue with my solenoids, and I keep poking at them, and it still isn't working.

Finally got around to drawing up a rough schem of my valve setup -- see the PDF attached. It was much prettier before I had to shrink the quality to get it under 20KB, but you get the idea.

Here's the problem: Zones 1 & 2 won't come on via the electronic controls. Zone 3 works sometimes. Zone 4 works all the time.

It's all Rainbird, here are the specifics on the manifold valves:
  • Zone 1: APAS 075 - clicks and hums, releases water, sprinklers won't start; manual start only
  • Zone 2: APAS 075 - clicks and hums, releases water, sprinklers won't start; manual start only
  • Zone 3: APAS 075 - clicks and hums, releases water, sprinklers start slowly and unreliably
  • Zone 4: ASVF 100 - works every time

I think the wires are working -- nothing's dead. I've messed around with the flow rings on the APAS valves until I can't see straight. I've flushed and re-flushed. I've swapped the solenoids for zones 1, 2 and 3 (the wires aren't long enough to swap #4), but that hasn't helped. I've replaced the solenoid for #1.