You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

vallesj

Tuesday, June 5th 2012, 11:17am

A revolution using a cheap backflow concept

After I bought wrongly a set of 4 electric valves to be buried, and 1 anti-shipon electric valve to serve as a main line backflow prevention device I had to decide if I need to expend again more money to correct the situation, abort or redesign the concept. Well, being an engineer I accepted the challenge of redesign the concept.

First I have a manual valve from the main line, as an emergency shutdown, then I installed the anti siphon valve. The idea here is to avoid use sch 40 PVC piping after that by having an automatic main line shutdown. Then run a "just when required" main line and placed 4 individual normal valves, one for each of my zones. I know what you think, the antisiphone valve will not work as intended, but let me finish explain. I used 4 zones just because there is not enough pressure&flow to irrigate my front and back yard at the same time. Because is only grass and is always receiving approximately the same amount of sun I will not treat any zone with an special treatment.

Now, the tricky solution I made to let the main anti-siphon work as intended is by programing the timings.
  1. Turn on the first valve
  2. The next minute the main anti siphon valve will be turned on.
  3. After the allowed time to irrigate the first zone, I will turn on the second valve.
  4. One minute after that (I had to use minutes because system does not allow seconds) turn off the first valve and keep the second valve on for the desired time.