You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

WillinMT

Saturday, June 16th 2012, 6:09pm

Another leak question

I am in the process of changing old Maxi-Paws with Hunter PGP-ATRs. The system is about 18 years old. I chose these because I have little experience with irrigation; I did not want did up old heads; I am not that handy; and to save some money.
The project has gone well, but one of the new heads leaks when the system is on. There is enough pressure to turn the rotor but water flows down the sidewalk. It is the lowest head on the system but it does not leak when the system is off. The new rotor is tight.
The installer used the side inlet which I have learned is not recommended for this climate. Does anyone know a possible cause of the leak.
I am wondering if the pipe going to the old head is loose. I would like to find a fix without digging it up.
Thank you.

mrfixit

Saturday, June 16th 2012, 6:32pm

Look at the leak closely. Is it leaking from inside the sprinkler housing or from around the outside of the sprinkler?
If it's inside i'd suspect it's either screwed on crooked. It's not tight or there's no O-ring. Maybe the O-ring's pinched.
If it's from the outside you'll have to dig to see where it's coming from....

WillinMT

Thursday, June 21st 2012, 12:31pm