You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

foobarro

Sunday, May 16th 2004, 9:59am

turning on system this spring with Febco 765-1

I'm a sprinkler novice (bought a house a few years ago which had a spinkler system installed, my first ever). Over the last few years, I've had a sprinkler service both winterize *and* turn on the system in the spring - this year I want to at least turn the system on myself, since I think I ought to be able to at least do that!

I have a Febco 765-1 backflow device installed. My problem is this - when I turn on the main water feed to the sprinkler system from inside the house, water leaks from everywhere at the Febco unit. I don't think it's damaged, as it was professionaly winterized, but you never know. I did turn the water on full blast the very first time I tried this, I hope that didn't damage anything. Could someone tell me what position the valves and knobs are supposed to be in, and basically what the correct procedure is to turn this baby on each year?