You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Jansanman

Unregistered

Saturday, May 24th 2008, 9:57am

adding Drip lines

Hi,

This is my first attempt at working with my irrigation system. I just converted and enlarged a flower garden to a vegetable garden and want to change the pop up spray sprinklers to drip line. I now have 3 hunter heads on the zone which fed the garden. The garden is about 10'W x 25'L. I am planning on having 4 to 5 rows of plants. I want to do this the easiest way possible. The guy at the hunter dist. seemed to make it complicated saying I would need to rip out the existing pipe and add many new parts. Can I just adapt some type of unit to where the head is now and run the drip lines from that? i did see a rainbird xbd xeri-bird 8 multi-unit emission device, is this all that i need to create the system i am looking for? It talks about accepting xeri-bug emitters(?) What type of tubing should i use? Do the 1/4" distribution tubes plug into the 1/2 tubing? Sorry for being such a noob.

HooKooDooKu

Supreme Member

Saturday, May 24th 2008, 3:30pm

A good starting point for information would be www.irrigationtutorials.com ... specifically the page http://www.irrigationtutorials.com/dripguide.htm

The guy at hunter was somewhat correct. With a drip system, you have to make sure the pressure has been regulated down to about 30-40psi, and the water has to be finely filtered. Without a filter (even on city water), the drip emmitters will quickly become clogged.