You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Andrewinva

Starting Member

Monday, July 28th 2008, 12:00pm

Merging two drip systems

I am a newbie so I apologize for the question if it's obvious. I purchased a couple of Orbit Vegetable Garden kits that I want to attach to my 1/2" mainline. The kit uses DripLock or a Quik-Loc connector.

Unfortunately, the mainline from the Orbit Drip Master does not work with the couplings that I bought....the Orbit mainline is slightly smaller.

Someone suggested using a male and female hose end at the end of the Quik-Loc and at the end of my 1/2" mainline but I wasn't sure if this was the right thing to do or not.

Thoughts?

Lowvolumejeff

Advanced Member

Tuesday, July 29th 2008, 3:49pm

Joining incompatibly sized "main-lines

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

One of the most confusing parts about drip systems is the use of 3 different sized (diameter) of mainline (AKA "1/2 inch) The outside diameters range from 0.5 to 0.710 inches. Most are 0.700 outside diameter. I can not see your system, and have not used Orbit kits, so please take my advice knowing of these limitation.