You are not logged in.

johnshenry

Starting Member

Monday, April 29th 2013, 12:22pm

Recommendations for 8+ controller

I realize that the regulars here probably tire of the "Which controller should I get?" posts, but here is another one.

I am a homeowner with a current 8 zone system, which I might like to expand further.... but a second controller in a different building might be best if I do that. I am replacing an old controller that I can't even remember the name of, but I have cussed at the last 3+ years and swore that "next spring I am replacing this damn thing". The controller will located indoors.

I presently don't have any sensors, but a good rain sensor seems like a good idea.

I am a 51 year old engineer, and tinkerer, and not much technical scares me.

I came to this site pretty much ready to order the Irrtrol system, then started reading more, Googleing more, etc... and realized that there are lot of other options out there.

Web control would be pretty cool, but it is not a must. I can get an LAN connection to the controller if needed. Modularity really doesn't mean much to me.

Again, sorry if these posts are tiring, but I respect that many of you have much more experience with these controllers than I, and want to make a good choice. So please, if you are so inclined, just throw out some makes model that you would recommend.... I appreciate it.

JH

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Monday, April 29th 2013, 1:17pm

Just as a controller, and not worrying about bells and whistles, a Hunter Pro-C is an easy choice.

scercpio

Monday, April 29th 2013, 7:50pm

BlueSpray, Irrigationcaddy, hydroflash?

rainmachine

Unregistered

Thursday, June 27th 2013, 3:03pm

forget about sensors

You do not need a rain sensor if you use rainmachine.com
This controller is forecast based and it knows is going to rain tomorrow.

scercpio

Thursday, June 27th 2013, 9:32pm

RE: forget about sensors

You do not need a rain sensor if you use rainmachine.com